Sarova Taita Hills Easter banner



 Coastweek website



Coastweek -- Eric Bengi and Tuta Mionki in a Subaru Impreza N12 during a past rally.

Star-Studded Entry Opens 2018 KNRC In Nakuru This Weekend

Coastweek -- A TOTAL of 24 crews, 9 in the premier National rally car category, will start in the opening round of the 2018 Kenya National Rally Championship at Top Fry Nakuru Rally this weekend.

Defending champion Ian Duncan will be among the drivers to beat in the seeded entry list, Homeboy Carl “Flash” Tundo will be back to steer a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 10.

Last year’s winner Onkar Rai and reigning African Rally Champion Manvir Baryan are the two youngster drivers who both will pilot the much-anticipated Skoda Fabia R5.

Skoda Fabia R5 made history last year by winning the season-opening rally in Mombasa, the Fly 540 Rally in Kajiado and the penultimate Nakuru.

The million dollar question is: Will Skoda magic come into perspective on the season opening event in Nakuru this weekend?.


Hamza Amwar, son of former Nanyuki Rally winner Asad Anwar and Lovejyot Singh will make their first appearance in the 8 leg series after graduating from the KCB National Autocross series.

A fabulous fight is in prospect in the Two Wheel Drive category, which has attracted speed merchant Sammy Nyorri in his traditional Proflex suspension driven Toyota Run X and Hamza himself in an ex Alex Lairangi Toyota Sprinter previously a championship winning car with Dennis Mwenda aka Dere Mwenda.

Karan Patel navigated by James Mwangi in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 10 will be the first one off the ramp in the Rift Valley Motor and Sports Club (RVMSC) organized event.

Youngster Karan, who will be running the Eastern region of the FIA African Rally Championship, will be followed by defending champion Ian Duncan also in a similar Group N Mitsubishi Lancer.

Duncan will however be without his regular navigator Amaar Slatch.

The seven time legendary Kenya champion Ian will be navigated by his former bike adversary Anthony Nielsen who is a former three times Open Class Motocross Champion.

Third off the ramp is Jaspreet Singh Chatthe in a R4 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 10.

Like Duncan, Chatthe has enlisted the services of a new navigator in James Morgan.

The young Welshman navigator James Morgan will be making his début on the Kenya National Rally Championship front hoping for the best in the Great Rift.

Last year’s winner of Nakuru Rally Onkar Rai returns to his home event hoping to give Skoda Fabia its second successive win.

He will be followed in the seeded list by Kabras Sugar teammate Baldev Singh Chager. Mombasa will be represented by two drivers in Sohanjeet Singh Puee and Amaar “Bushy” Haq of Yalfa Rally Team


After last weekend’s KCB Autocross 2, Lovejyot Singh prepares to make his KNRC debut this weekend with zeal and vigor navigated by Linet Ayuko.

Lovejyot used the weekend’s Autocross as a dress rehearsal for his dream KNRC debut.

“The race was good; The car was running perfectly well. Was a good test for this weekend’s Top Fry Rally. I made few mistakes which cost me my second position just by a mere 1 second. It’s my KNRC debut and I’m very excited for it. I can’t wait to be in Nakuru this weekend.” Lovejyot said.


1 Karan Patel /James Mwangi P KEN

KEN Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Filmico Racing

2 Ian Duncan.Anthony Nielsen P KEN

KEN ( Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Ian Duncan Rallying)

3 Jaspreet Chatthe /James Morgan P KEN UK( Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Team Kibos)

4 Onkar Rai /Gareth Dawe P KEN

KEN (Skoda Fabia Kabras Racing)

5 Baldev Chager /Ravi Soni P KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Kabras Racing)

6 Manvir Baryan /Drew Sturrock P KEN

UK Skoda Fabia Multiple Racing Team

7 Carl Tundo /Tim Jessop P KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Menengai Oil Racing)

8 Tejveer Rai /Zahir Shah P KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Kabras Racing)

9          Farhaaz Khan /Keith Henrie P KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Oilibya Racing)

10        Jasmeet Chana /Ravi Chana 1 KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 CRS Racing)

11 Eric Bengi /Tuta Mionki 1 KEN

KEN (Subaru Impreza N12 Menengai Cream Boyz/Galz)

12        Minesh Rathod /Shameer Yusuf 1 KEN KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Team A One Auto)

13 Aakif Virani .Azhar Bhatti 1 KEN

KEN (Subaru Impreza N14 Arrow Racing Team)

14 Ammar Haq /Victor Okundi 2 KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Team Yalfa)

15 Sohanjeet Puee/Gurveer Pandhal 2 KEN KEN (Subaru Impreza N10 Team Nanak)

16  Daren Miranda /Wayne Fernandes 3 KEN KEN (Subaru Impreza Team A One Auto)

17  Edward Maina /John Ngugi 3 KEN

KEN (Subaru Impreza Emka Racing Team)

18 Sammy Nyorri /Mwangi Kioni 2 KEN

KEN (Toyota RunX Moonwalker)

19 Charles Hinga /TBA 2 KEN

KEN( Toyota RunX Auto Movers)

20 47 Nikhil Sachania /Alfir Khan 3 KEN

KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution 10 Filmico Racing)

21 Imran Khan /Kennedy Masoni 3 KEN

KEN (Subaru Impreza N10 ALS)

22 Lovejyot Singh /Linet Ayuko 3 KEN KEN (Subaru Impreza N10 Izmir Racing)

23 Hamza Anwar /Salim Khan 3 KEN

KEN (Toyota Sprinter AES)

24 Sarit Shah /Kigondu Kareithi 3 KEN

KEN Toyota Corolla RSI



Remember: you read it first at !

BestWestern Swiss Cottage Hotel London | Coastweek


Please contact

MOMBASA - GULSHAN JIVRAJ, Mobile: 0722 775164 Tel: (+254) (41) 2230130 /
Wireless: 020 3549187 e-mail:

NAIROBI - ANJUM H. ASODIA, Mobile: 0733 775446 Tel: (+254) (020) 3744459

    © Coastweek Newspapers Limited               Tel: (+254) (41) 2230130  |  Wireless: 020 3549187  |  E-mail: