Coastweek website



Uganda names final squad for 2018 Africa Nations Championship

ENTEBBE (Xinhua) -- Uganda Cranes head coach Sebastien Desabre has named his final squad that will take part in the 2018 Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) in Morocco.

The tournament meant for players who feature in their respective home Leagues in Africa will take place from January 13 to February 4 in four towns in Morocco.

“I believe that the players who I have selected after a few days of training with them since I joined last week will do the job. We still have room to improve with the friendly games against Congo Brazzaville and Cameroon ahead of the tournament,” said French born coach Desabre before the team traveled aboard Ethiopian Airlines to Morocco on Wednesday afternoon.

He also made it clear that all players will have the chance depending on their form. “No players will be assured of a place on the team unless he is fit and in good form,” added the coach who hoped that they go past the group stage.

Uganda who will be based in Marrakech will play alongside Zambia, Namibia and Cote d’Ivoire in Group B. Two players Daniel Isiagi Godfrey Lwesibawa were dropped from the squad that has been training.

Team captain Bernard Muwanga told Xinhua that they are going to carry the Ugandan flag high. “Our first task will be to battle to qualify out of the groups for the knockout stage. But we are confident of putting up a good show,” he added.

On Tuesday Ugandan President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni flagged off the team at his country home in Rwakitura, Ruhaama district.

The Africa Nations Championship will attract Morocco, Mauritania, Guinea, Sudan, Cote d’Ivoire, Namibia, Zambia, Uganda, Libya, Equatorial Guinea, Nigeria, Rwanda, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon and Congo Brazzaville.

Uganda squad

Goalkeepers: Isma Watenga, Benjamin Ochan, Saidi Keni

Defenders: Nicholas Wakiro Wadada, Joseph Nsubuga, Isaac Muleme, Aggrey Madoi, Timothy Dennis Awanyi , Seif Batte,  Bernard Muwanga, Mustapha Mujuzi, Mustapha Kiiza

Midfielders: Tadeo Lwanga, Tom Masiko, Ibrahim Saddam Juma, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Milton Karisa, Abubaker Kasule, Allan Kyambadde, Paul Mucureezi, Rahmat Senfuka, Moses Waiswa

Strikers: Derrick Nsibambi, Shaban Muhammad, Nelson Senkatuka



Remember: you read it first at !


Please contact

MOMBASA - GULSHAN JIVRAJ, Mobile: 0722 775164 Tel: (+254) (41) 2230130 /
Wireless: 020 3549187 e-mail:

NAIROBI - ANJUM H. ASODIA, Mobile: 0733 775446 Tel: (+254) (020) 3744459

    © Coastweek Newspapers Limited               Tel: (+254) (41) 2230130  |  Wireless: 020 3549187  |  E-mail: