IAfrica News Kenya Focus 

April 19 - 25, 2013


 Coastweek   Kenya

 HOME - click this banner to return to http://www.coastweek.com 





President Uhuru Kenyatta unveils
improved government structure

the reduced structure is geared towards achieving a lean,
efficient and effective executive branch of government


NAIROBI (Xinhua) -- Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday unveiled his new government structure, trimming ministries from the previous 44 to 18 in line with the new constitution and also aimed at reducing the wage bill.

Under the new structure, Kenyatta said the reduced structure is geared towards achieving a lean, efficient and effective executive branch of government.

“In the structure, the President has given special focus to the youth, gender, devolution, planning as well as national cohesion and integration which have all been brought under the Presidency,” Kenyatta said in the statement.

Also given special focus is mining which is now a stand-alone ministry. Information, Communication and Technology ministry as well as Sports, Culture and Arts are also stand-alone ministries with a view to leveraging on the creative potential of the youth. Infrastructure ministries as well as national resources ministries have also largely been brought under the same roof.

“In exercise of the authority vested in him by the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and in conformity with the expectations of a lean and effective structure, President Kenyatta officially released the list of ministries and state departments that will form the National Executive,” the statement said.

Under the Office of the presidency, there will be the Executive Office of the President and the Executive Office of the Deputy President with two ministries that include the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government and the Ministry of Devolution and Planning.

Some of the ministries created after collapsing the ministries from 44 to 18 include Defense, Foreign Affairs, Education which will have the Department of Education and Department of Science and Technology, the National Treasury, Health, Transport and Infrastructure which will have the Department of Transport Services and the Department of Infrastructure, Environment, Water and Natural Resource, Land and Housing and Urban Development.

Others are Labor, Social Security and Services, Energy and Petroleum, Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries under which are the Department of Agriculture, Department of Livestock and Department of Fisheries, Industrialization and Enterprise Development, Commerce and Tourism which has the Department of Commerce and Department of Tourism, and Mining.

The structure also contains the Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice.


Remember: you read it first at coastweek.com !





Copyright © '96, '97, '98, '99, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04, '05, '06, '07, '08, '09, '10, '11, '12.
Coastweek Newspapers Ltd.  All rights reserved.

Comments and questions: